Stanisław Bożyk

DIVISION OF POWER IN THE CONSTITUTIONAL SYSTEM OF ISRAEL

The article is devoted to the issue of the division of powers in the constitutional system of Israel. First of all, the Author points out the specific legal basis of the political system of that state. As there is no written constitution, the political system of Israel is currently defined by eleven basic laws that do not have a higher legal force in the system of normative acts. They do not formulate directly the principle of the division of powers, but the principle results clearly both from the regulations concerning legal and political system, as well as the systematics of the fundamental laws. In the later part of the article the relationship between the main Israeli government bodies formed within the division into legislative, executive and judicial power are presented. The Author also defines the position of divided powers - a unicameral parliament (Knesset), the executive authorities (a president and a government) and the Supreme Court - in the political system as well as their scope of competences.